Color Controversy?

5 Aug

For the past couple of weeks I’ve been surfing the blog world trying to get a handle on how to do ‘blogging’.  I already have many favorites that I’ve arranged to have pop up on my Google homepage.  Love technology (when it works).

One of my favorites is a fellow lover of design and she is one stylish, creative gal.   Recently she featured an all white home and asked the question “Stark White or Not?”  via MadeByGirl: August 2010.   For me it was way too much white, feeling cold and sterile.  It was amazing how many follow-up comments were in favor and thought the home looked awesome!  There were a couple of people who couldn’t live there but liked the idea.

Oh no, I hate being the odd man out.  But today I’ve perked up because while visiting the ElleDecor website I ran across the following article.

What the Pros Know: Tips on Decorating with Color and Using Paint Colors.

Too timely for words seeing as how I’ve just finished writing an article for my local newspaper encouraging everyone to consider painting their ceilings something other than white!

Whew! I’m not alone.  Color me happy!

Simple Changes or Complete Transformations – design simply works.

4 Responses to “Color Controversy?”

  1. kelly August 10, 2010 at 11:29 am #

    Me living in all white is like putting me in a straightjacket!!!

    • designsimplyworks August 26, 2010 at 6:01 pm #

      Boy, do I ever agree with you. Some find freedom in it. I feel uninspired. More color images here…

  2. Red Web Turtle August 19, 2010 at 4:04 am #

    Thanks for the useful tips. On one of your links, I liked how they recommended painting the underside of the table red. That was something new to me.

    I don’t mind white. I feel white needs to be broken down by using shades of other colours. I usually don’t like too much contrast but again it depends on a particular design.

    Thanks for your comment on my blog.

    • designsimplyworks August 26, 2010 at 5:52 pm #

      Thank you for stopping by. So much to learn about this blogging thing!

Leave a Reply

