A Wedding! – Friday’s Smile

28 Apr

As I’m writing it is still hours away from Will and Kate’s big “I DO” but my anticipation is growing.

It might be my age (I’m Diana’s generation) or my heritage (my mother is Welch)  but I have been fascinated with “the royals” since the late 60’s.  Back then Queen Elizabeth visited Fort St. John, British Columbia and I was a tiny Brownie standing at the airport, holding a flower.  I thought she was very elegant and I was mesmerized.

I watched Diana and Charles wedding from my home in Calgary and tragically years later, her funeral from my home in Bolivia.  It gets me all misty to think that she doesn’t get to see her sons marry, but I will again be glued to my TV soaking in all the pomp and pageantry.

This time I might even spring for an “official royal family souvenir”

Will & Kate approved! China plate, mug and pill box.

Of course the approved pieces are gorgeous and can be purchased from the Royal Collection Shop.

Each piece features the couple’s initials in gold and silver with the coronet of Prince William and the wedding date, April 29, 2011, and features a decorative pattern of doves, white ribbons and silver, gold and gray hearts, set against a pale gray striped background.

I’ve got my eye on the pill box – it makes me smile!

I hope you have time to enjoy even a few minutes of the wedding coverage. 

Wishing you a safe and happy weekend!

Leave a Reply

