Reflecting on Mirrors – and their frames.

12 Oct

On Saturday I was lucky enough to be at a client’s lake house ….beautiful house, beautiful view.  Lovely way to spend a couple of hours.

While going through her list of questions for me, we eventually ventured into the master bath.  She wasn’t asking about her mirror but I noticed it was the typical large rectangle that contractors plaster to the wall with enough goo that it’s never coming off unless you tear down half the gyproc (drywall) with it.   In my opinion, this situation is a design foe pas and I always recommend framing.  Unframed mirrors just make your space look unfinished and it’s easily fixed with a product called “Mirror Mate“.

And don’t worry if your mirror is butting up against a wall or sitting on the top of the backsplash or counter-top.  They have the solution for that.

I have had this product on my radar for a couple of years now but haven’t tried it yet myself.  In the last several weeks I’ve come across a couple of other blog posts by favorite bloggers who have used the Mirror Mate framing system.  This was just too coincidental and I realized I had to blog about it.

Here are a couple of before & afters illustrating how a simple frame can make such a big impact.

Warning: the following content may result in another DIY project being added to your list.  Feelings of dissatisfaction with your existing mirror situation may occur.   Side-effects may include elevated heart-rate, squeals of delight, increased anticipation and possibly “mirror anxiety” relief.

 

Before Image via Living With Lindsay

 

 

After Image via Living With Lindsay

 

You can see Lindsay’s step by step path to this transformation right here.

Still not convinced?  Keep watching……

 

Before Image via Centsational Girl

 

 

After Image Centsational Girl

 

You can follow Kate’s step by step installation here.  Also note that while Kate’s giveaway is closed, the discount code is still active until the end of December 2010.  Better get cracking!

See – told ‘ya, one more DIY project written down on that list of yours!   Yup, me too.

Simple Changes or Complete Transformations – thoughtful design simply works.

To help you make design work for you please email me here for an on-line consultation or if you are local please call me at 204.620.6202

Leave a comment